Diamond Awards – Winners announced!

We are delighted to announce that our 30th Anniversary year will culminate with our fantastic Diamond Awards Gala.  This exclusive awards ceremony evening takes place on March 4th 2022 at the Hilton Doubletree Oxford Belfry, in the region where our wonderful charity was established.

The evening will be a celebration of those individuals and teams who’ve gone above and beyond to help the Child Brain Injury Trust meet our goals and enabled us to support many thousands of families.  Commending these individuals and organisations will be an exciting, emotional and rewarding experience; reflecting on the last 30 years whilst also looking into the future.

We are throwing our doors open and encouraging shortlisted awards entrants and our wider ‘family’ alike to join us for the evening and to pay tribute to some very special individuals and teams.



Thank you to everyone who submitted a nomination.

We have completed the shortlisting process and the shortlist is announced below…

You will be able to find the shortlist for each award under the categories below (as well as the criteria that was used for each award). Simply click on the + next to each category to view the shortlist.

Congratulations to all the shortlisted nominees! We’re really looking forward to the event and we cannot wait to share the experience with you.

The event is kindly sponsored by:

Diamond Award Categories and Shortlist

Hospital Team Award

This award is for a team or hospital that has supported and worked with the charity either in the past, or is currently working with us, to help advance and improve support services for families affected by ABI so that the emerging needs of CYP are appropriately met.  This could be a new or improved pathway, or creation of a clearer team approach to achieve care excellence, for example.

The shortlist is….

  • Neuro Rehab Team – Royal Manchester Hospital
  • Birmingham Children’s Hospital
  • The team on Ward 1B – Great North Children’s Hospital
  • Neuro Rehab Team – Southampton Hospital
  • Major Trauma/Neuro Rehab Team – Royal London Hospital

Corporate Supporter Award

This award is for an organisation or company that has demonstrated impactful support for the charity.  Nominees have clearly demonstrated how the corporate has supported the charity and what tangible impact that support has had for the Child Brain Injury Trust.

The shortlist is….

  • JMW Solicitors
  • Anthony Collins LLP
  • Hodge Jones & Allen Solicitors
  • Rathbones
  • Inez Brown – Birmingham Law Society
  • Bolt Burdon Kemp
  • Simpson Millar

Outstanding Family Award

This award is for a family the Child Brain Injury Trust has supported in the past or present.  They have shown resilience, pulled together as a family and have a story they are willing to share.

The shortlist is….

  • Dottin-Payne Family
  • Pilling Family
  • Dyer Family
  • Chuipa/Anderson Family
  • Edmeades / Everest Family
  • Ofori-Atta Family
  • James Family
  • Moss Family

Young Achiever for Inspiration and Impact Award

This award is to celebrate a young person who has been impacted by ABI in the past or is currently being impacted.  They may have an ABI themselves or be a sibling of a child or young person with an ABI.  They’re inspirational and their story is uplifting.

The shortlist is….

  • Jaden Payne
  • Zach Morrison
  • Connor Lynes
  • Henri Hyde
  • Jake Sanderson
  • Ryley Reed
  • James Crossley

Outstanding Individual Supporter Award

This award celebrates the achievements of an individual who has shown outstanding support to the charity.  They have supported the charity past and present, and this has had a great impact on them and the charity.  They may have fundraised for us, provided support ‘in kind’, helped the charity progress our work, introduced the charity to funding opportunities and/or been a ‘champion’ of our cause.

The shortlist is….

  • Gordon Cartwright
  • Adrian Hawley
  • Richard Crabtree
  • Rankeshwar Batta
  • Rob Thomas
  • Krissi Fletcher
  • Damian Horan

Collaboration Award

This award is to celebrate what can be achieved via collaboration.  Entrants for this category are organisations that have worked in partnership with our charity to progress the work of CBIT and/or to raise awareness of ABI. They have had a significant positive impact on families and the development of our work.

The shortlist is….

  • Child Brain Injury Rehabilitation Service
  • Eden Dora Trust
  • Meningitis Now
  • Leigh Day

Lifetime Achievers Award

This is a discretionary award that the charity will be presenting to an individual who has a long-term relationship with the charity.

There is no shortlist for this award.

Outstanding ABI Educator Award

This award celebrates the efforts and impact that an educator has given to raise awareness of ABI in an education setting or who has provided support to a child/young person. They have truly stood out and made a difference to the education experience of a child/young person affected by ABI.

The shortlist is….

  • Debbie Carletti – Kingstone High School
  • Heather Moore – Buckton Vale Primary School
  • Judith James – Education Case Management Services Ltd
  • Diane Henson – Wheelers Lane Technology College
  • Emma Stoddart – Child Brain Injury Trust

Advocacy Award

This award celebrates the impact that an individual, team or organisation has had by working either directly or indirectly with us to raise awareness of the profile of Childhood ABI and our charity.   Entrants have demonstrated that through their action, or securing of an opportunity on our behalf, that our work has been substantially advanced and that this advancement continues to make a difference to the service we deliver today.

The shortlist is….

  • Emily Bennett
  • Sharon Machin

Professional Supporter Award

This award celebrates the achievements of an outstanding professional supporter within a clinical or therapeutic setting who has worked alongside our teams to enhance the family’s rehabilitation journey.

The shortlist is….

  • Helen Blakesley
  • Grace Edge
  • Dr Emily Bennett
  • Professor Rajat Gupta
  • Shona Mackie

Rising Star Award

The future of our charity is as important as celebrating our past and present activity.  We want to celebrate the achievements of a ‘rising star’ who is working with the charity to help secure our future.  Entrants are individuals or organisations who have aligned values, commitment and passion for our work and are making a difference.

The shortlist is….

  • Frenkel Topping
  • Richard Neve – Premex
  • Fergus Cherrington
  • Denise Stevens – Shoosmiths
  • James Parks – 18 St John Street Chambers